

## SACRED HEART ACADEMY FOUNDATION, INC.

P.O. BOX 522. MT. PLEASANT, MICHIGAN 48804-0522. (989)772-1385

October 2020

Dear Alumni and Friends of the SHA Foundation:

Sacred Heart Academy has met the challenges presented by the pandemic and has opened its doors for the 131<sup>st</sup> consecutive school year! Preparing for students in the classroom took a lot of planning and hard work by our teachers and staff. The extra precautions for health and safety in the school included modifications such as signage, hand sanitizing stations, temperature monitoring stations, serving meals in the classrooms, hiring additional janitorial services, and more. The SHA Foundation has agreed to give an additional \$100,000 to the Academy this year to help offset these expenses.

Our teachers, the true heart of the Academy, are working harder than ever to keep students engaged by modifying hands-on learning experiences and making allowances for activities which are restricted. The teachers are going above-and-beyond in countless ways, including offering online instruction for dozens of students. The SHA Foundation is committed to helping the teachers and staff in any way we can as we move forward.

I am grateful to all who helped build our endowment for the benefit of Sacred Heart Academy, the last remaining Pre-K through 12<sup>th</sup> grade school in our diocese. As president of the SHA Foundation, it is my privilege to ask you to make an investment this year when it is most needed. Please join me in making a tax-deductible contribution before the end of the year.

The Academy is worthy of your support. Your gift preserves the priceless benefit of Catholic education at SHA. May God bless you and your families.

Sincerely,

## Founding Trustees (1976)

Robert Sweeney '40
Alice Goenner
Betty Powell Johnson '43
Joseph Hauck
Gerald Cotter '22
Earl Hartman, Sr.
John Ward
Dean Verleger
William Myler, Sr.
Virginia McConnell Cotter '34
William Brehm Sr.
W. F. Sowle, Sr. '26

## Current Trustees (2020)

M. Sonja Baumgarth
Paul Bigard '85
Mike Ervin '85
Joe Fox '78
Eric Janes
Linda Heintz
Mike Kostrzewa '68
Pat McDonald '88
David F. McGuire '82
Bill Myler, Jr. '76
Shelli Lannen Sias '78
Carla Szelag
Andy Theisen '78
Andy Theisen Jr. '02
Lori Sheppard Trainor '78

Bill Myler Jr, SHA '76

President, Sacred Heart Academy Foundation, Inc.

Enclosures: SHA Foundation Annual Report and giving envelope